BIG News! My new book, SUMMER AT THE LAKESIDE RESORT, arriving May 15th!

USA Today Bestselling Author Susan Schild

The Lakeside Resort Series


Summer at the Lakeside Resort: Book 2 Lakeside Resort Series

Just Arrived May 15! AVAILABLE NOW!

 Forty-three year old Jenny Beckett has just renovated eight rustic guest cabins on beautiful Heron Lake, North Carolina. Brand new to the innkeeping business, she is struggling to make The Lakeside Resort profitable. Wrangling guests like The Fighting Couple, persnickety attorneys, and the curvy gals from the Fabulous You Fitness Week keep her on her toes. 

Jenny's business isn't her only problem. Her mother and stepfather have just moved in for an extended stay. Startling developments with her possible fiancé, Luke, make Jenny question his commitment to her. An all-gal camping trip in her old Airstream lifts her spirits, but Jenny still has doubts about whether she and Luke can make their love work. After all the heartache she’s had, can Jenny learn to trust love again and finally find her happily ever after?

Buy the book: these links will be live on May 15th

"Comforting, sweet, comical and lovely!"


Christmas at the Lakeside Resort: BOOK 1 Lakeside Resort Series


Forty-two year old Jenny Beckett is dreading the holidays. Her fiancé has just called off their Christmas wedding, and she’s been evicted from her darling chicken coop cottage. When her estranged father dies and leaves her eight rustic guest cabins on Heron Lake, Jenny seizes the chance to make a new life. She packs up her dogs, her miniature horse and her beat up Airstream trailer and moves to the lake.

Short on time and money, Jenny and her contractor, widower Luke, work feverishly to renovate the cabins in time for the festive holiday event she’s promised her very first guests. When an unexpected blizzard snows them in and jeopardizes the resort’s opening, Jenny and Luke work to save the event and, along the way, find true love… and the magic of Christmas.

"I could not get enough of these characters...I sure hope this is the first in long list of sequels! "

The Willow Hill Series


Linny's Sweet Dream List: Book 1 The Willow Hill Series


Thirty-eight year old Linny Taylor should have known that Buck – a Golden Boy driving a vintage Caddy – was not good husband material, but she married him anyway. The marriage goes South fast, and Buck steals all her money.

Linny is forced to move into a rundown mobile home right next door to her church lady mother, and rebuild her life from scratch. She makes a list of things that might make her sweet dreams come true. A porch swing. A job that makes her happy. Maybe even a date or two.

Good ole boy veterinarian, Jack Avery, comes into her life, and seems like the real deal, but so did her thieving husband. Jack comes with baggage, too – an exquisite ex-wife who seems just a little too chummy with him, and a moody young son. Can Linny learn to trust love again, and find her happily ever after?


"A wonderful, heartwarming story about starting over!"


Sweet Carolina Morning: Book 2 The Willow Hill Series

Finally, just shy of forty years old, Linny Taylor is living the life of her dreams in her charming hometown of Willow Hill, North Carolina. The past few years have been anything but a fairy tale: Left broke by her con man late-husband, Linny has struggled to rebuild her life from scratch. Then she met Jack Avery, the town’s much-adored veterinarian. And she’s marrying him.

Everything should be coming up roses for Linny. So why does she have such a serious case of pre-wedding jitters? It could be because Jack’s prosperous family doesn’t approve of her rough-and-tumble background. Or that his ex-wife is suddenly back on the scene. Or that Linny has yet to win over his son’s heart. All these obstacles—not to mention what she should wear when she walks down the aisle—are taking the joy out of planning her wedding. Linny better find a way to trust love again, or she might risk losing the one man she wants to be with—forever…

"Humorous, heart-squeezing and smart."


Sweet Southern Hearts: Book 3 The Willow Hill Series

When it comes to marriage, third time’s the charm for Linny Taylor. She’s thrilled to be on her honeymoon with Jack Avery, Willow Hill’s handsome veterinarian. But just like the hair-raising white water rafting trip Jack persuades her to take, newlywed life has plenty of dips and bumps.

Jack’s twelve-year-old son is resisting all Linny’s efforts to be the perfect stepmother, while her own mother, Dottie, begs her to tag along on the first week of a free-wheeling RV adventure. Who knew women “of a certain age” could drum up so much trouble? No sooner is Linny sighing with relief at being back home than she’s helping her frazzled sister with a new baby…and dealing with an unexpected legacy from her late ex. Life is fuller—and richer—than she ever imagined, but if there’s one thing Linny’s learned by now, it’s that there’s always room for another sweet surprise…

"These characters feel like friends and family to me now."